Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

City of Grant, Nebraska


Ajax Loading Image


Council Minutes - October 26, 2021



October 26, 2021


                Mayor Lisa Schmitt convened a meeting of the Council of the City of Grant, Nebraska in open and public session on October 26, 2021 at 7:00 p.m.  Notice of this meeting was given in advance by publication in the Grant Tribune Sentinel, the City’s designated method for giving notice, October 20, 2021, and members of the City Council and a copy of their Acknowledgment of Receipt and the Agenda are attached to these minutes.  Availability of the Agenda was communicated in the advance notice and in the notice to the Mayor and Council of this meeting.  All proceedings hereafter shown were recorded while said meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

Mayor Lisa Schmitt announced the posting of the Open Meetings Act and its location.

Roll call:  Present Council members:  Bishop, Brueggeman, Petersen, Sims and Mayor Schmitt.  Others present:  City Superintendent Edward Dunn, City Clerk/Treasurer Jessie Faber, City Attorney Tawna Holmstedt, et al.

The motion was made by Bishop and seconded by Petersen to accept the agenda as presented.

Roll call vote:  Yeas – all present. Nays – none.  Motion carried.

A motion was made by Petersen to approve the minutes of the October 12, 2021 meeting as presented and waive the reading and seconded by Sims.

Roll call vote:  Yeas – all present. Nays – none.  Motion carried.


COMMUNICATIONS:  City Superintendent, Edward Dunn informed the Council that West Central Nebraska Development District will be in town tomorrow to abate three properties and the Chamber’s downtown trick or treat will be Friday from 4 p.m. to 5 p.m. Dunn also informed the council he will be attending an NMPP Meeting in Lincoln on November 3rd & 4th and an MEAN Meeting in Kearney on November 17th & 18th. Dunn reminded the Council that the bid openings for the street improvement project will be November 4th at 2:00 p.m. and the water improvement project will be November 18th at 2:00 p.m.  Dunn stated the election filing deadlines, filing opens on January 5th, incumbent deadline is February 15th and non-incumbent deadline is March 1st. The terms that will be expiring are the Mayor, and Council seats held by Brueggeman & Petersen.



Council member, Petersen – none. Council member, Bishop – none. Council member, Brueggeman – gave an update on the library meeting. Council member, Sims – none.   







Action and Discussion on Approving Change Order Request No. 6 for the Swimming Pool Facility, Project Number 153-E1-003 – A motion was made by Bishop to accept the change order no. 6 for the Swimming Pool Facility, project number 153-E1-003 and seconded by Petersen.

Roll call vote:  Yeas – all present. Nays – none.  Motion carried.


Action on Bills & Claims – AFLAC, employee benefits – 178.64; Black Hills Energy, utilities – 49.52; CNA Surety, insurance – 280.00; Country Supply, supplies & loss of asset– 585.69; Gworks, professional services – 23,821.09; League of NE Municipalities, dues – 100.00; MEAN, transmission charge – 102,283.85; Midwest Electric, Utilities – 359.66; Miller & Associates Consulting Engineers, P.C., capital outlay – 10,119.55; Nebraska Public Health Environmental, lab & well tests – 30.00; Nebraska Rural Water Assoc., dues – 175.00; Principal Life Insurance Company, employee benefits – 120.75; W.P.C.I., dues & training –125.00; American Funds, retirement –1,248.58; Nebraska Department of Revenue, sales tax – 11,863.46; United States Treasury, federal tax withholding – 3,546.09; Overtime Wages 9/26-10/16 – 694.22. Total Bills and Claims $155,581.10.


The motion was made by Brueggeman and seconded by Sims to approve the Bills and Claims in the amount of $155,581.10.

Roll call vote:  Yeas – all present. Nays – none.  Motion carried.


Bishop, Brueggeman, Petersen & Sims reviewed the bills and claims prior to the meeting.


Mayor Lisa Schmitt adjourned this meeting of the Grant City Council at 7:14 P.M.




                                                                                              Lisa Schmitt, Mayor



Jessie Faber, City Clerk